Meet the 2018 Keystone Xigo Scholarship Winner

The annual Keystone Awards evening was held on 25 October 2018 at Generator @ GridAKL. The evening was a wonderful celebration of the achievements of all the winning students with Katrina Jordan being named the proud recipient of the 2018 Keystone Xigo Scholarship.

Katrina is in her first year of a Bachelor of Urban Planning (Hons) degree at the University of Auckland. Her chosen degree reflects her passion for the relationship between people and their environment and her desire to address current local and global cultural and environmental issues.

Applicants for the scholarship were required to submit an application outlining their achievements, the contribution of their qualification to property and construction project management, future ambitions in the industry and their vision for the role of project managers in solving or mitigating the issues faced by the industry today.
Katrina’s application reflected her carefully considered view of urban planning as a holistic discipline that requires the planner to consider multiple environmental, social and economic perspectives to make the best long-term decisions for all stakeholders.

Katrina is a respected peer and student with remarkable leadership abilities and an exceptional work ethic. Her academic and extra-curricular achievements are exemplary, including completing four half-marathons and competing in the Xterra Auckland Series. She has a strong community focus and has given her time freely to support various community activities and charitable causes, including running a local community netball league and completing the World Challenge in 2016/17. This year she is looking forward to joining UN Youth and taking part in Auckland University’s GenZero Campaign, a sustainable future collective.

The Award was presented by Xigo Director Andrew McDonald and attended by a number of the Xigo team, as well as Sarah Moore, winner of the 2017 Keystone Xigo Scholarship, who will be joining the Xigo team as a Project Manager in January 2019. Also pictured are Andrew Ward, Xigo Senior Project Manager and Corrina Gibbons-Hurinui, a former Keystone Trustee and Scholarship winner and Senior Project Manager at Xigo.

Applications for the 2020 Keystone Awards open on 31 May 2019.